Former Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb becomes Rajya Sabha MP, defeats CPM candidate – न्यूज़लीड India

Former Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb becomes Rajya Sabha MP, defeats CPM candidate


oi- Sushil Kumar


Published: Thursday, September 22, 2022, 20:07 [IST]

Google Oneindia News

Agartala, 22 September: Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb on Thursday won the Rajya Sabha election. Biplab Kumar Deb won the by-election on the lone seat in the state. The Bharatiya Janata Party has a majority in the Legislative Assembly. Because of which Biplab Deb got 43 votes. He defeated CPM candidate and former Finance Minister Bhanulal Saha. Bhanulal Saha got only 15 votes.

Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb

The BJP has 36 seats in the 60-member assembly. His alliance partner Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) has seven seats. CPM has only 15 MLAs and Congress has MLAs. According to reports, the lone Congress MLA did not cast his vote.

Tweet after winning the election

Biplab Deb tweeted, “Thank you to the BJP and IPFT MLAs of Tripura for electing me as a Rajya Sabha MP. Thanks to PM Modi, JP Nadda and Amit Shah ji for giving me the opportunity to represent Tripura in Rajya Sabha. With the blessings of Mata Tripurasundari, I will continue to serve the dear people of Tripura till my last breath.

The seat was vacant after the resignation of Manik Saha

The Rajya Sabha seat fell vacant after Manik Saha resigned. Manik Saha was made the Chief Minister in place of Biplab Deb. Biplab Deb became the state president of BJP Tripura in 2018. When BJP came to power in 2018, he became the Chief Minister. He resigned from the post of Chief Minister on 14 May 2022.

Also read- BJP government bulldozers on illegal Congress-CPI(M) offices in Tripura, political mercury rises

  • ‘Historic’: PM Modi stunned by BJP’s victory in by-elections, expressed gratitude to the public
  • Tripura: Clashes between BJP-Congress workers as soon as the results of the by-elections came, Rahul said – Police did not take action
  • BJP released list for by-elections to be held in 5 states, ticket to ‘Nirhua’ from Azamgarh
  • Preparations to send oil to Tripura via Bangladesh, Indian Oil’s decision after rail network came to a standstill
  • Tripura: A setback to TMC before by-elections, former MLA Ashish Das quits party
  • Big road accident in Bihar’s Purnia, 8 laborers died due to overturning of truck
  • Tripura: 11 MLAs take oath as cabinet ministers at Raj Bhavan
  • How 5 ‘false coins’ of Congress proved ‘manik’ for BJP in Northeast, made all of them the Chief Minister
  • Manik Saha becomes CM of Tripura, resolves to take forward PM Modi’s agenda
  • Weather Updates: Heat wave continues in Delhi, ‘Heatwave’ will continue even today but clouds will rain in these states
  • Manik Saha sworn in as Chief Minister of Tripura at Agartala Raj Bhavan
  • Uproar after legislature party meeting over Biplab Deb’s resignation, chairs were raised and thrown

english summary

Former Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb elected Rajya Sabha mp defeat cpm candidate

Story first published: Thursday, September 22, 2022, 20:07 [IST]

A note to our visitors

By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.