Gujarat: Sons of MLAs are contesting elections on 20 seats, Congress-BJP’s ‘dynasticism’ in the field – न्यूज़लीड India

Gujarat: Sons of MLAs are contesting elections on 20 seats, Congress-BJP’s ‘dynasticism’ in the field

Sons of current and former MLAs fielded on 20 seats

In the assembly constituencies where there is lack of alternative to any established candidate, it is being seen that the sons of the said leader are contesting the elections. Here Mohansinh Rathwa, a tribal leader and 10-time Congress MLA, broke his decades-long ties with his party and joined the BJP last month, prompting the ruling party to field his son Rajendrasinh Rathwa from the Chhota Udaipur seat . The constituency reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates will see a direct contest between Rajendrasinh and Congress’s Sangramsinh Rathwa, son of former railway minister Naran Rathwa, both making their election debut.
Kanu Patel, the sitting MLA from Sanand seat in Ahmedabad district, is the son of former Congress MLA Karan Singh Patel. Patel senior joined the BJP in 2017, paving the way for his son to seek re-election from Sanand. BJP has fielded Kanu Patel from the same seat. The BJP candidate from Thasra, Yogendra Parmar, is the son of 2-time MLA Ramsingh Parmar, who had won on a Congress ticket in 2007 and 2012 before quitting the party in 2017, but was defeated by a BJP candidate. .

Former Chief Minister Shankersinh Vaghela's son contesting election

Former Chief Minister Shankersinh Vaghela’s son contesting election

Shailesh Parmar, a two-time Congress MLA from Danilimda seat in Ahmedabad, is the son of former MLA Manubhai Parmar. Congress has once again reposed faith in Shailesh for the upcoming elections. Another such contestant is former two-time MLA Mahendrasinh Vaghela, son of former Gujarat Chief Minister Shankarsinh Vaghela. Mahendra Singh had rejoined the Congress last month and the party had fielded him from the Byad seat. He represented the constituency as a Congress MLA between 2012 and 2017, switched to the BJP in 2019, and returned to his parent party—the Congress—last month.

Former Chief Minister Amar Singh's son is also contesting the election

Former Chief Minister Amar Singh’s son is also contesting the election

The Congress has fielded Tushar Chowdhary, son of former Chief Minister Amarsinh Chowdhary, from Bardoli, a seat reserved for Scheduled Tribes. He served as the MP of Mandvi between 2004–09 and Bardoli from 2009 to 2014. Jayesh Radadia, son of former BJP MP (late) Vitthal Radadia from Porbandar seat, won the by-election for Dhoraji assembly seat in 2009. He won the 2012 assembly elections as a Congress candidate from the Jetpur constituency. Jayesh and his father resigned from the Congress in 2013. In the 2017 elections, Radadiya Jr had won on a BJP ticket from Jetpur. He became a minister in the cabinet headed by Vijay Rupani. The BJP has fielded him from Jetpur for the elections to be held next month.

'Dabangg' leaders have influence

‘Dabangg’ leaders have influence

If political experts are to be believed, usually there are many such families in every political party who consider politics as their heritage. Such families wield enormous influence in their respective seats and can influence election results. Parties are unable to find an alternative to such leaders and are therefore forced to give tickets to their close ones. In some cases there are ‘Dabangg’ leaders against whom no other leader of their political parties dares to stand. They keep on winning and are given tickets because parties fail to find alternatives. Even when they are replaced, so are their sons, daughters or wives.”

When will the votes be cast in Gujarat

When will the votes be cast in Gujarat

Gujarat will vote in two phases on 1 and 5 December. After that the counting of votes will take place on December 8. According to the Election Commission, 89 seats will go to polls in the first phase in Gujarat. In the second phase, polling will be held on 93 seats.

Gujarat Election 2022: Leaders are restless due to the silence of votersGujarat Election 2022: Leaders are restless due to the silence of voters

There are a total of 182 assembly seats in Gujarat. 92 seats are needed for a majority. In the 2017 assembly elections, BJP got 99 seats, Congress got 77 seats, while six seats went to the account of independents and others.

A note to our visitors

By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.

%d bloggers like this: