Odisha CM to lead BJD campaign in Padampur bypoll – न्यूज़लीड India

Odisha CM to lead BJD campaign in Padampur bypoll


oi-Foziya Khan


Published: Sunday, November 20, 2022, 16:32 [IST]

google oneindia news

Bhubaneswar, November 20 – Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will lead 40-star campaigners of BJD for the Padampur bypoll to be held on December 5. State BJP president Sameer Mohanty, who led the party to an emphatic victory in the recently concluded Dhamnagar bypoll, will again take the lead. Leadership role from saffron party to Padampur. In the case of the Congress, AICC in-charge of Odisha A Chella Kumar will steer the party’s campaign machinery and will be assisted by others including AICC co-in-charge G Rudra Raju. Amid election fever in Padampur, set for a triangular contest between BJD, BJP and Congress, the three parties on Saturday released a list of 40-40 star campaigners.


Prominent leaders of the ruling BJD who did not figure in the list include Revenue Minister Pramila Mallick, Chandbali MLA Byomkesh Ray and Kendrapara MP Anubhav Mohanty. Sources said Ray and Mallick, who have earned the ire of Dhamnagar voters for excessive interference during the selection of candidates, have been kept out of the list so that the opposition does not get any leverage. Having fallen from the grace of the public as well as the party leadership following a marital discord with his wife Varsha Priyadarshini, the Kendrapara MP, a crowd puller for his oratory skills, is no longer a party favourite. It has been removed from the list.

Similarly, Congress MLA from Barabati-Cuttack Mohd Mokim has been dropped from the list of star campaigners ever since he crossed party lines and voted for Draupadi Murmu during the presidential election. Apart from the chief minister, the list of star campaigners includes nine ministers including Pranab Prakash Das, Prasanna Acharya and Debi Prasad Mishra and senior BJD leaders. The BJP list has prominent leaders including Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Ashwini Vaishnav, Arjun Munda, Bisheshwar Tudu, Leader of Opposition Jainarayan Mishra, National General Secretaries Sunil Bansal, D Purandeshwari, Vijaypal Singh Tomar and Baijayant Panda. Newly elected BJP MLA from Dhamnagar Suryabanshi Suraj is also in the list and has started campaigning for the party candidate Pradeep Purohit.

english summary

Odisha CM to lead BJD campaign in Padampur bypoll

Story first published: Sunday, November 20, 2022, 16:32 [IST]

A note to our visitors

By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.